Introductions topic

Dear fellow forum dwellers! To make this more of a community, an idea was put forward to create a topic for introductions. This way we’ll hopefully know a little about the person behind the posts. This is of course totally voluntary :slight_smile:

I should start.

My name is Jason Robinson and I locate in Helsinki, Finland. I work as a developer at New Vector (freelance/contracting) who are the creators of the Matrix protocol. My interests in the federated web started around 2010 with the Diaspora project. After some time I set up my own pod and in 2012 was a part of the community taking over the project from the original team. Around 2014 to 2016 I was a part of the Diaspora core team, handling a lot of community related matters. During those times I launched various federation related small projects like The-Federation.info and Social-Relay.

In 2014 I also joined the W3C SocialWG as an invited expert to help with the work on ActivityStreams2 and what then became ActivityPub.

In 2016 I started my own Django powered federated web project called Socialhome. Currently it federates using the Diaspora protocol with ActivityPub work in progress. I call it a “Tumblr / Twitter / Pinterest” mashup.

In 2018 we smashed our beery brains together with @zauberstuhl and decided to set up Feneas. We felt during the years of being in the federated web space that there isn’t really an organization that allows people to be involved in the federated web in general, and it felt like a fun idea to do something about it.

When not at the computer I enjoy drinking beer, cycling and the company of my kids. Not usually at the same time :wink:

*all years subject to the memory of an ageing mind

6 Likes

As I asked for this, I should probably go next.

Hello!